Cancer: signs, stages and categories.


Cancer:  signs, stages and categories

Cancer is a group of disease often characterized by abnormal cell growth. It often develop when the body normal control way is stopped or starts malfunctioning. It develops into tumors and can occur anywhere in the body.

According to research, there are five main categories of cancer

Leukemia-cancer in the blood and bone marrow

Carcinoma- cancer on the skin or internal tissues that line the internal organs of the body


Sarcoma- cancer that affects the bone, cartilage, fat and other connective tissue
Lymphomas- cancer that begins from the immune system

Central nervous system cancer that affects the brain and spinal cord.

Diagnosis of Cancer
Diagnosing cancer at the early stage greatly reduces the occurrence of deadly stages and provides the best chance for a cure.
Cancer can be diagnosed by:

Physical Examination: this simply means feeling of area of the body for lump, change in texture and  of body parts, careful observation of any enlarge part that could mean cancer.

Imaging test: Imaging test allows the doctor to see through the bones and internal organs. Imaging tests used in diagnosing cancer may include a computerized tomography (CT) scan, bone scan, magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), positron emission tomography (PET) scan, ultrasound and X-ray, among others.

Laboratory Tests: Laboratory test like blood test, urine can be used to check for irregular amount of cells. For example, a complete blood test can show the presence of an unusual amount of white blood cells which could be a sign of leukemia.

Stages of Cancer
Cancer stages are indicated by the numbers 0 to 4, and are often written as Roman numerals 0- IV.

Higher numbers indicate a more-advanced cancer.

For some types of cancer, cancer stage is indicated using letters or words

Have you been diagnosed with cancer?

Give us a call @ +234 0809 682 4795

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *